2014 Resolutions Check-In: January

I am not really a “New Year’s Resolutions” kind of girl.  I see a lot of truth in the whiny Facebook posts that plague my news feed on January 1, berating people for lazily waiting until the first of the year to make changes in their lives.  It’s true that there isn’t really anything special about January 1.  If there is a change worth making, why not just go ahead and make it?  Should the fact that it’s September 17, not January 1, keep you from being a better you?  Obviously not.  But there is something charming about January 1 as a new beginning.  I like the idea of a concrete starting point, a place from which I can track my progress.

So this year, I made resolutions.  And I made them on paper (and shared them here!), instead of just in my head, in the hopes that I would better commit to them than I have to the resolutions I’ve made in the past.  I also have decided to revisit my resolutions, word for word, each month.  By re-reading and re-committing myself monthly to the resolutions I created at the beginning of 2014, I hope to actually accomplish them.  (Fun Fact:  Only 46% of New Year’s resolutions make it halfway through the year.)  So here we go!

For my interactions with others …
I resolve to vocalize more positives and fewer negatives, to acknowledge more of what I like, and to hold my tongue until I have something constructive and kind to say.

I’m getting there.  I am trying to pay special attention to the conversations I have, the way I choose to phrase things, etc.  I am learning to be more respectful of other people’s opinions and positions, and to be more respectful in my disagreement.  Being more active and intentional about cultivating a more positive outlook is helping.

For my health …
I resolve to floss daily, to run more days of each week than I don’t, to practice yoga more days of each week than I don’t, and to challenge my taste buds to enjoy vegetables a little bit more.

I am not flossing regularly — that needs more work!  But I am running and practicing yoga relatively often.  The weather has not been super-helpful in making that happen, but I’m building up to a pretty regular exercise schedule.  Vegetables are still not my thing, but I am working on an open mind.  There are avocados and broccoli in my kitchen right this moment!

For my own peace of mind …
I resolve to work on building an adult life of which I am proud, to find a job that makes me feel fulfilled, and to cultivate interests that will keep me happy.

Yeah … let’s not talk about this one.  Job searching sucks.  But interests are fun!

Leave a Reply

