2014 Resolutions Check-In: June

June came and went so fast — all of the sudden we are halfway through with 2014! This month, it felt like I was on the go a lot and always doing something. Trying to be mindful about my 2014 resolutions is tricky in busy times, but let’s see how I think I did.

For my interactions with others …
I resolve to vocalize more positives and fewer negatives, to acknowledge more of what I like, and to hold my tongue until I have something constructive and kind to say.

This will always be a work in progress for me. I’m not a negative person, but I am detail-oriented, a perfectionist, and a fixer. Sometimes the not-nice things just fly out of my mouth, but I do think I’m getting better. I really do.

For my health …
I resolve to floss daily, to run more days of each week than I don’t, to practice yoga more days of each week than I don’t, and to challenge my taste buds to enjoy vegetables a little bit more.

Oooooooh guys, I got in trouble for not flossing! I had a dentist appointment this month and they called me out. But their scolding me has done no good. I’m still not flossing. This really should be the easiest resolution to fulfill … But I’m still maintaining an active fitness routine and I have been trying new foods! At least I’m making progress on something, right?

For my own peace of mind …
I resolve to work on building an adult life of which I am proud, to find a job that makes me feel fulfilled, and to cultivate interests that will keep me happy.

I have been doing a lot of thinking throughout the job searching process. I think about what kind of job I want, but also what kind of life I want that job to facilitate. I’ve realized that it’s okay to be a little picky, it’s smart to recognize when something isn’t the right fit and to let it go, and it’s brave to explore options. I’m looking forward to things, which is a new and exciting feeling to have.

So now that we’re entering the seventh month of the year, how are your New Year Resolutions looking?

Leave a Reply

