Boyfriend Benedict

Long time, no post! So sorry, but I’m back!

A whole new category of food was added to my culinary experiences as soon as my boyfriend and I started dating. As a very recipe-focused cook, it’s sometimes a little hard for me to think outside of the box and just create something yummy with whatever is in my kitchen. But that’s the cooking arena in which my boyfriend really shines (I might be biased, but I’m pretty sure it’s true). He is the king of breakfast food all day and the master of building sandwiches that blow my mind. Today I had to take a stab at one of his more recent yummy creations.

I am a true lover of Eggs Benedict. Hollandaise sauce on anything? Count me in. Poached egg? Even better. But my boyfriend is not an Eggs Benedict fan. He’s fine with the egg, but the hollandaise is a deal-breaker. So he put together something that looks Eggs Benedict-y, and is just as yummy, but is much quicker and easier to make at any time of the day! (And you put it together serving by serving, so making some for just you is not a big chore.)

Here’s what you’ll need (for one serving):
1 egg
1 slice of bread (When my boyfriend made this for me originally, he used English Muffins. They worked just as well.)
A slice or two of rosemary ham (My boyfriend introduced me to Citterio’s Rosmarino Ham and it is so yummy. I’m not usually a deli meat lover, but this stuff is an exception.)
A slice of muenster cheese

1. Fry the egg in a skillet over medium heat, with a little bit of olive oil and salt. I like my fried eggs a little runny, but you can have yours however you’d like. Just be sure to pull the egg off the heat before it’s done to your liking because you’ll be briefly microwaving it later!
2. In the pan you used to fry the egg, quickly fry the ham slices to warm them up.
3. Toast the bread slice.
4. Stack the prepared ingredients like this, from bottom to top: toasted bread, ham, fried egg.
5. Place the slice of muenster cheese on top of the stack.
6. Microwave for about 30 seconds, or until cheese just begins to melt.
7. Chow down!

With the muenster all melted, doesn’t it almost look like Eggs Benedict!?

Give it a try and let me know what you think! I’ll pass along your (hopefully) nice words and suggestions.

Leave a Reply

