2014 Resolutions Check-In: July

July! What a month! Packed full of work and play, it was a good month and it went by very quickly. As always, I tried to work toward fulfilling the resolutions I set for myself at the start of this year. Let’s see how I did.

For my interactions with others …
I resolve to vocalize more positives and fewer negatives, to acknowledge more of what I like, and to hold my tongue until I have something constructive and kind to say.

In my attempts to fulfill this resolution, I think what has really happened is that I have become much more able (or maybe just much more willing) to acknowledge when I’m being rude or careless. I’m really working on being mindful and intentional about my interactions with others.

For my health …
I resolve to floss daily, to run more days of each week than I don’t, to practice yoga more days of each week than I don’t, and to challenge my taste buds to enjoy vegetables a little bit more.

This month I developed the canker sore from hell. I think it was the result of stress and worry, and it was terrible. Seriously, ask anyone I talked to during the month of July and they will have heard all about it. (Sorry guys.) But after it finally went away, I started flossing (just because I was feeling like treating my poor little mouth like a queen) and I’ve been pretty consistent since then. My yoga practice is lacking, but I’m working out daily and I’m feeling good. And every now and then, I’m eating something new. Progress!

For my own peace of mind …
I resolve to work on building an adult life of which I am proud, to find a job that makes me feel fulfilled, and to cultivate interests that will keep me happy.

July was a rough month when it came to feeling optimistic about the adult life I’m trying to build. But I’m trying to practice patience.

August, let’s go.

Leave a Reply

