Rice and Italian Dressing

Ketchup and Italian salad dressing. Mmmmmmm. I used to put one or the other on everything I ate. I would say that it bordered on gross, but that would be a lie. It was actually gross. I have dipped slices of cheddar cheese in ketchup. And Chinese take-out was never to be enjoyed without the addition of Italian dressing. See what I mean? Kiiiiiinda gross.

For the most part, and very much as a result of my more recent and more mindful approach to health, I have broken the habit of carelessly dousing my food in condiments. But the other day, I returned to my roots. I was craving some Italian salad dressing on top of something it was probably never intended to flavor: rice.

I tossed together some white rice, feta cheese, and homegrown cherry tomatoes with some zesty Italian dressing and I was happy. Don’t knock it until you try it. I’m telling you, there’s a reason it took 20 years for me to break my habit.

Leave a Reply

