2014 Resolutions Check-In: August

Ugh, August. This past month was a rough one for me. This was a month of change, a month of adjustments, and a month of stress. But it was also full of happy things, like my sister’s return from her summer in Europe (I’ve decided that she’s never allowed to leave me ever again) and my (very embarrassing) first time salsa dancing! In a month that was so packed full of feelings, I’m not sure I did a very good job of being mindful of my resolutions. But I’m going to consider my understanding of that to be progress somehow, and I’ll keep this brief.

For my interactions with others …
I resolve to vocalize more positives and fewer negatives, to acknowledge more of what I like, and to hold my tongue until I have something constructive and kind to say.

Stress got the best of me this month. I ran out of patience a lot. I bottled things up and then exploded at people. You win some, you lose some.

For my health …
I resolve to floss daily, to run more days of each week than I don’t, to practice yoga more days of each week than I don’t, and to challenge my taste buds to enjoy vegetables a little bit more.

I’m flossing! And still working out! These vegetables though …

For my own peace of mind …
I resolve to work on building an adult life of which I am proud, to find a job that makes me feel fulfilled, and to cultivate interests that will keep me happy.

August was not a month for any kind of peace of mind cultivation. I was dragging myself to the finish line.

September will be better.

Leave a Reply

