The 5 Christmas Movies You Should Be Watching

Elf is not on this list. Elf is on a lot of “top Christmas movies” lists, but it will never be on a favorable list of mine. Period. Here you will find only the best.

This is a brief, but I believe complete, list of all the movies you need to watch this Christmas season. That’s right. You really only need to be watching five movies over and over again to get in the holiday spirit. And two of those five are basically the same thing!

Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town (1970)
I just think the little red-haired Kris Kringle is the cutest thing! And I am particularly fond of this scene:

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (1964)
The combination of the lovey-dovey eyes Clarice has for Rudolph and this song makes the whole movie worth the watch:

How the Grinch Stole Christmas (2000)
It wouldn’t be Christmas without the Whos and the Grinch! I adore the costumes and the set design so much.

Dr. Seuss’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas (1966)
You can never have too much Grinch. You can also never have too much vintage animation.  Here’s a peek at the end:

White Christmas (1954)
Yes, I saved the best for last. This is the Christmas movie. I laugh, I cry (I really do — the end gets me every single time), I envy Vera-Ellen’s dance moves, and then I repeat.  How can you say no to dancing and dresses like this?

Enjoy! And let me know what you’re watching this Christmas!

3 thoughts on “The 5 Christmas Movies You Should Be Watching

  1. I’d add The year w/out a Santa Claus – LOVE Heat Miser and Cold Miser. I’ve also added Holiday Inn and Love Actually. BTW LOVE that scene w/ Danny Kaye – whole move is filled with great numbers. Plus when the boys dress up for the “Sisters” song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

