2014 Resolutions Check-In: December

Woo!  2014 is on its way out and I am ready to welcome 2015, so let’s review my resolutions a little bit early for a change.

I wrote these resolutions when I was in a very different place than I am now: at the start of my final semester of college, looking for a job, ready to start “real life” and still not ready at all. I am different now: working a full-time job, living on my own, ready. I’ve changed in positive ways, and I think making these resolutions and mindfully returning to them each month helped to make that happen.

For my interactions with others …
I resolved to vocalize more positives and fewer negatives, to acknowledge more of what I like, and to hold my tongue until I have something constructive and kind to say.

Being quick to judge and slow to apologize was my comfort zone. Being gentle is something on which I have had to work this year. There are times when I’m still not as kind as I could be, but there are fewer of those times now than there were a year ago.

For my health …
I resolved to floss daily, to run more days of each week than I don’t, to practice yoga more days of each week than I don’t, and to challenge my taste buds to enjoy vegetables a little bit more.

I’ve fallen off the wagon a little bit with the exercise recently, but I’m proud of my performance throughout the year. I’m stronger now and happier with the way my body feels. There are now vegetables included in most of my meals — some of my childhood assumptions about certain vegetables’ “grossness” have been dismissed. But flossing? I’m still bad at it.

For my own peace of mind …
I resolved to work on building an adult life of which I am proud, to find a job that makes me feel fulfilled, and to cultivate interests that will keep me happy.

If we’re being honest, for a second it felt like I’d never be able to fulfill this resolution. The middle of this year really put me through the wringer, but now everything is moving in a positive direction. I’ve been settling into my job and identifying areas of interest that I’d like to pursue now that I can. I’m building and I’m happy.

I’d say I did pretty well! Let me know — how did your 2014 resolutions end up?

Leave a Reply

