Fancy Macaroni and Cheese

When it comes to macaroni and cheese, I don’t need much.  For as long as I can remember, Stouffer’s frozen macaroni and cheese has been my go-to.  I basically survived my freshman year of college on those single serving Velveeta macaroni and cheese cups.  If I’m feeling a little fun, I’ll go for Annie’s Shells and White Cheddar.  Like I said, I don’t need much.

Macaroni and cheese is my comfort food,  so when my boyfriend and I decided that we were going to have a movie night with some quintessential comfort food, you know macaroni and cheese ended up on the menu.  We decided to go the homemade route; my boyfriend is classier than I am and prefers for the cheese part to actually be cheese.  We landed on this recipe from Saveur.  “Hollow pasta” with fancily named cheeses is how everyone does comfort food for movie night, right?

We couldn’t find any Comté or Cantal, so we just made do with extra fontina and Gruyère.  I used a whole 16-ounce box of pasta because there was enough cheesy sauce to accommodate the extra 4 ounces.  But if you’re going to do that, I would recommend a bigger baking dish — my biggest baking dish is a 2-quart and everything just barely fit!

Everything came together easily in about an hour.  It took about 30 minutes to get it into the oven, and then another 30 to bake.  Not too bad, if you ask me.

The parmesan panko bread crumb topping was my favorite part!

It was warm, filling, and definitely comforting.  I’m probably prouder than I should be that I somehow managed to turn my comfort food craving for carbs and cheese into something fancy.

3 thoughts on “Fancy Macaroni and Cheese

  1. Looks delish! Have another that’s easy w/ cheddar if you’re feeling purist – I also add tomatoes for that something “extra” It takes about 20 to prep and 30 to bake. May be lower in fat as I use panko on top and think cheddar less fat than fontina and Gruyère. Let me know. I’m thinking of adding ham to yours – think that would be really good – say after Easter? (We’ll I likely cannot wait until THEN but… you get the gist.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

