Galentine’s Day with My Sister

My sister and I like to do something each year to celebrate Valentine’s Day.  We were each other’s galentine before Galentine’s Day was a thing.

This year, to celebrate, we had a sister weekend.  After spending a night together at home with our parents and our sweet baby kitties, we headed to my place and the adventures began.

#cheechandthechicken and rinkus. #galentinesday

A post shared by Lucy (@lucyyy_j) on

♡ #buddhaonthings

A post shared by Lucy (@lucyyy_j) on

boo luv #buddhaonthings

A post shared by Lucy (@lucyyy_j) on

We started with the Grand Slam at Arden’s Garden, which has been on our to-do lists for a while.  There are four juice shots and a chaser:  wheatgrass, ginger, lemon, and cranberry, followed by apple or pineapple.  Going in, I was definitely most freaked out about the wheatgrass (because, come on, it’s grass), but it’s the ginger that will get you!

the famous Grand Slam. Start your mornings right! #ArdensGarden #TheGarden #GrandSlam

A post shared by Official Arden's Garden (@ardensgardenatl) on

I don’t know what I was expecting, but the wheatgrass tastes exactly like freshly mowed grass smells.  After the initial shock, it really wasn’t so bad.  I won’t lie — the ginger burns and it doesn’t really stop.  But the follow-up of the lemon and cranberry juices helps a little bit.  My sister went for the pineapple chaser, but I stuck with apple.  Tip:  Hold the apple/pineapple juice in your mouth for a moment and relish the relief.

It was probably all in my head, but I felt great after the shots and, even with the ginger, I would do it again!

The next morning, we got up bright and early to head to a warm detox flow yoga class.  We got our yoga fix with a background soundtrack that included Beyoncé covers and Sir Mix-a-Lot’s “Baby Got Back”.

Throw in a stop for lunch at our grandparents’ house and a few fun errands, and our Galentine’s Weekend was complete!  I’d call it a success.

One thought on “Galentine’s Day with My Sister

Leave a Reply

