View from My Mat: #KOPYoga

Earlier this week, my sister and I headed to the Old Fourth Ward Skate Park for some free yoga with King of Pops.  Each spring/summer Tuesday from 7-8 PM, King of Pops sponsors this class and hundreds of people attend.

 

Traffic and parking is always an issue, so my sister and I took advantage of the perfect weather and walked to the class.  We started in Midtown, strolling through Piedmont Park, eventually hopping onto the Beltline and following it to the Skate Park.

The class is an hour long and covers a basic, but refreshing, yoga flow.  We lucked out with perfect weather and a lighter crowd.  You’ll see all kinds of people and all levels of yogi there, which is always fun.

After class, we retraced our steps.  Heading back along the Beltline, we were in awe of all the activity.  For two extreme homebodies like us, the idea of going out to dinner or shopping on Tuesday night is totally crazy.  It was fun to see so many people out and about!  And, of course, it doesn’t hurt that Atlanta sparkles at night.

We stopped in Ponce City Market (my first time!) for a quick window-shopping exploration and a bite to eat.  My sister got the Cuban sandwich from El Super Pan and I got the chicken sandwich from Hop’s Chicken — both were delicious.  By the time we got back home, I felt full and happy.  It’s amazing what a little yoga, walking, and fried chicken can do for you, right?

One thought on “View from My Mat: #KOPYoga

Leave a Reply

