Whole(ish) 30: The End

It’s over!  I did it!  30(ish) days of no added sugar, no alcohol, no grains, no legumes, no dairy, no carrageenan/MSG/sulfites, and no body measuring.  I’ll be honest with you here and own up to cheating a few times for social engagements and to survive my Day 10 sore throat.  But I mostly did it!

so this is what a #whole30 fridge looks like …

A post shared by Lucy (@lucyyy_j) on

 

My Whole30 was all about figuring out what was throwing my body out of whack, not so much about changing my relationship with or approach to food.  For over a year now, I haven’t felt right.  I don’t really know how to describe it, but something has been off even though I’ve been healthy.  So I intended for my Whole30 to be less concerned with cheating and more focused on listening to my body’s responses throughout the process.

Like I mentioned when I started, I’m not big on super-restrictive approaches to eating, so I won’t swear up and down that Whole30 is the way to do this.  But I do think that it was the right move for me and I had great success:

  • My bloating went away almost immediately.
  • My sleep was so much better.
  • My skin was soft and clear.
  • My energy levels were much more stable.

Today is the beginning of my reintroduction phase.  I’m really excited to (hopefully) pinpoint which foods make me feel better and which foods make me feel worse.  After loving the way I felt during my Whole30, this should be interesting.

Here’s a look at my Whole30 experience, broken down to match the (very helpful, very funny) Whole30 timeline:

Day 1: So what’s the big deal?
Thanks to mom and a huge shopping trip, I went into this fully prepared with a stocked kitchen. True to the timeline, Day 1 was no biggie.  Sure, I ate differently than I might have outside of my Whole30, but it wasn’t hard or inconvenient.

Days 2-3: The Hangover
I wasn’t starving or all that tired these days, and I didn’t have any intense hangover feelings, but I yawned so much.  Over and over and over again, which was really unusual for me.  But despite the yawning, I experienced stable energy and moods.  I actually didn’t experience my normal afternoon energy slump at all, which was super exciting (since a major motivator for this experiment was my lack of energy).

Days 4-5: Kill ALL the things!
Day 4 was not so bad, aside from my intense day-long aversion to eggs.  But Day 5?  Man, I woke up grouchy.  Aside from that, I felt on top of my game. My energy was up and my motivation to get things done was present.  Oh, and the yawning stopped.

Days 6-7: I just want a nap…
Yeah.  I was exhausted.  I needed to sleep and sleep and sleep some more.  I was grouchy and whiny and, on a regular day, I would have been knee-deep in non-Whole30 comfort foods.

Day 8-9: For the love of Gosling, my pants are TIGHTER.
Luckily enough for my self-esteem, I did not bloat.  But I was still exhausted in a sleep-all-day kind of way.

Days 10-11: The Hardest Days.
People said I would be beyond missing cheese at this point.  People were wrong.  I also had some kind of nasty sore throat and sinus issues going on for a few days, which only made it worse.  It’s not really that I was unhappy with the foods I could eat.  It’s more that things started getting inconvenient and boring.  Like the timeline says, “the newness of the program has worn off”.

Days 12-15: Boundless energy! Now give me a damn Twinkie.
Let the record show that Day 15 was the day I stopped mourning the loss of cheese 24/7.

Days 16-27: Tiger Blood!
I don’t know about all this “tiger blood” talk, but I will say that about halfway through the month it started to click and feel easier.  I didn’t have to think so hard about what I could and couldn’t have, I didn’t feel panic over meal planning, etc.  That was nice and it stayed that way.  The drastic changes I felt at the beginning of the 30 days started to feel like my new normal.

(Interlude) Day 21: I am so over this.
I had been a little over it for a while, mostly because I felt a little food bored …

Day 28: 28 is as good as 30…right?
All I could think was:  “Is it time for cheese yet?”

Days 29-30: HolyOprahIt’sAlmostOverWhatAmIGoingToEatNow?!?!?!
No, but really, what should I be eating?  On Day 29 I did start to worry a little about what I would eat first after Day 30 and what my diet might look like after the reintroduction period.  But mostly, I felt good, accomplished, and happy.

Now, where’s the cheese?  Heehee, only kind of kidding.  Reintroduction, here I come!

5 thoughts on “Whole(ish) 30: The End

  1. Congrats on successfully finishing Whole30! I’m on a similar diet, and I loved the hysterical timeline when I was going through the first 30 days. I never got the “Tiger Blood” though…ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

