Chicken Salad with Warm Purple Onion Vinaigrette

From the kitchen of my momma, a delicious Whole30-compliant recipe from way before Whole30 was even a thing!  This dish was a lifesaver when I was packing my Whole30 lunches for work.  Here’s what you need:

1 small purple onion, thinly sliced
4 chicken breasts, cut in 1-inch cubes
1 tablespoon minced fresh thyme
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup vegetable oil
3 tablespoons balsamic or red wine vinegar
1/2 head Romaine lettuce
1/2 head red leaf lettuce
(I like to add cucumbers to the lettuce for more crunch.)

Sprinkle chicken with thyme, salt, and pepper.  Heat oil and saute chicken, stirring frequently, until cooked through.  Add vinegar, stir with spoon to deglaze.  Remove from heat.  Stir in onion.  Arrange lettuces on plates and top with chicken-onion mixture.  Spoon remaining oil and vinegar from pan over top.  Serve warm.

When I take this for lunch, I package the lettuce and the chicken/onion/vinegar separately.  I heat the chicken/onion/vinegar in the microwave and pour it over the lettuce once I’m ready to eat.  (Sometimes I toss a little extra vinegar and some olive oil on my lettuce to enhance the dressing.)  It’s delicious and easy, and I love that the chicken/onion/vinegar can be put together a few days in advance so putting together lunch in the morning is easy.

One thought on “Chicken Salad with Warm Purple Onion Vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

