7 Ways to Escape a Summer Slump

[image source]

Ugh, I’m in a slump.  We’re just about to hit July and all I can see in front of me is work and 100°F days.  Such a bummer, right?  I feel dried out — my creative juices are just not flowing.  I’m trying not to wallow in my slump.  And since I can’t be the only one who hits this kind of wall every now and then, I figured I’d share a few ways to get back into the swing of things.

Listen to a few podcasts.
Podcasts are a great way to get some creativity flowing.  There are podcasts about almost everything, you’ve just got to find the ones you like.  Right now, I’m loving I Want to Like You for fun.

Watch a documentary.
For the same reason I love podcasts, I love documentaries for everything from entertainment to education.  I watch most of mine through Netflix.

Plan a vacation.
Especially when I’ve got no scheduled vacations coming up soon, it’s fun to plan a trip, even if it’s not actually going to happen.  Just looking at pictures of a new destination and reading about vacation activities is enough to give me a mental break.

Pick a challenge.
Sometimes my slumps happen because I’m feeling complacent, just going through the motions.  A challenge can help break me out of it because it gets me focusing on something.  I’m going to try this quick creativity challenge soon.

Work to adopt a new good habit.
When I’m feeling bored and slump-y, it’s the perfect time for me to dedicate my energy to something productive and good for me.  Here’s a list of ideas.

Do something completely new.
A slump is the perfect time to try something new and get out of your comfort zone.  For example, I tried a kickboxing class the other day and it was like nothing I’ve ever done before.  It was great and inspiring, even though I was intimidated and a little embarrassed that my jabs are more like pokes.

Embrace the break.
Sometimes I just ride it out because I need a break.

How do you escape a slump?

Leave a Reply

