A Weekend in the Mountains

My parents, sister, and I took full advantage of the Labor Day long weekend and headed to the mountains.  It’s been a long time since the four of us got to hang out together, especially for days in a row, and it was so much fun!  Plus, we were pretty much without Internet, cell service, and TV, so it was all us all the time.

We arrived just before dark on Friday and left after lunch on Monday, giving us two full days (and some change) to explore.
We started with a hike up to the Brasstown Bald observation tower.  Brasstown Bald is the highest point in Georgia and you can see Atlanta and four states from the peak.  It wasn’t clear enough for us to see anything but mountains and mountains all around, but it was still pretty beautiful.

While we were in the area, we had to stop in Helen to grab a Reuben and take some ridiculous pictures.

Because we just couldn’t help ourselves, we had to make a stop at Babyland General Hospital to see all the adorable Cabbage Patch babies and witness one of Mother Cabbage’s labors and deliveries!  (When I say “we”, I’m really only talking about my mom, my sister, and me.  My dad absolutely could have helped himself, but he was a good sport.)  We had Cabbage Patch Kids when we were little and have visited Babyland General before (when it was in a teeny, tiny house), so it was a nice stroll down memory lane.

The next day, we tackled Tallulah Gorge.  I’ve visited Tallulah Gorge many times and I seem to always forget all of the stairs.  There are so many.  But I love the views and it’s a pretty easy park to navigate.

And we stopped to give Lake Burton some love — the weather was perfect and the lake was full of people.  We all agree that a lake house would suit us just fine.

The rest of the weekend was filled with porch relaxation, puzzles, games, and good food.  I think every weekend should be a three-day one.  Who’s with me!?

One thought on “A Weekend in the Mountains

Leave a Reply

