The Magic Cabbage

1350341-l-1472697003
Shannon Bellamy

It’s funny to me that, somehow, one of the most offensive-in-childhood vegetables has become one of my favorites.  Cabbage.  Green, red, raw, cooked — I’m into it.

My mom has this red cabbage recipe that I like to call “The Magic Cabbage”.  It’s beautiful and tasty, keeps well, and goes with almost anything.  Just thinking about it has my tummy growling.  Oh, and did I mention that it’s easy?

Warm Red Cabbage Salad with Goat Cheese
Serves 4

1/4 cup canola oil
1 medium-sized head of red cabbage, thinly sliced
2/3 cup chopped and lightly toasted hazelnuts or pine nuts
1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
4 ounces fresh goat cheese

In a medium pan, gently heat oil.  Add cabbage and 1/2 cup of the nuts.  Saute until cabbage is wilted.  Add balsamic vinegar, sugar, and salt, and cook for 1 minute, stirring well to coat the cabbage mixture.  Taste to make certain cabbage is tender.  Transfer cabbage to 4 salad plates.  Crumbled an ounce of the goat cheese over each salad and sprinkle with the remaining chopped nuts.

Et voilà!  Go make some.

Note:  I usually go with pine nuts and I replace the goat cheese with feta.
Leave a Reply

