My Beauty Uniform


I’m a big fan of Cup of Jo’s “My Beauty Uniform” posts.  There’s something really interesting about other people’s beauty routines — it’s like peeking inside someone’s bathroom cabinet!  Plus, I feel like I always learn something.  So here’s a look into my (pretty exclusively drugstore) beauty regimen …

What’s your daily skincare routine?
In the mornings, I start by wiping down my face with a facial wipe that’s gentle on sensitive skin.  I’m not too picky, but right now I’m using Simple’s Cleansing Facial Wipes.  I use CeraVe’s AM Facial Moisturizing Lotion (SPF always!) all over my face and neck.  Sometimes, if I’m a little bit patchier than usual, I’ll mix in a little bit of Aveeno’s Positively Radiant CC Cream (also with SPF) to even things out.  At night, I wash my face in the shower, alternating between CeraVe’s Foaming Facial Cleanser and Alba’s Good & Clean Toxin Release Scrub every other night.  I also use a gentle exfoliating washcloth nightly.  Every day I use Aveeno’s Daily Moisturizing body wash and lotion all over.  I top it all off with Aquaphor Healing Ointment on my lips whenever I happen to think of it!  I’ve also recently been using nipple cream (yes, seriously) as lip balm thanks to a friend’s recommendation.

Do you have any tricks for troubleshooting blemishes?
I try to keep things really simple, even when my skin is looking rough, but I do like Mario Badescu’s Drying Lotion for spot treatments.  When I don’t have Drying Lotion around, I swear by a dab of tea tree oil to clear pimples right up!

What other makeup do you wear?
Usually, I wear a light brown eyeliner along my upper lash line and black-brown Maybelline Falsies Mascara.  I’ve tried lots of drugstore mascaras, but I always come back to Falsies.  I’ve recently been really into eyebrows, so I’ll add some Maybelline Brow Drama Pomade Crayon or use the Maybelline Brow Drama Pro Palette.  Most everything I wear is “soft brown” because I find darker make-ups too jarring against my pale skin; sticking with brown keeps things looking natural.  I keep my lips pretty simple, with a light Burt’s Bees tinted lip balm or regular old Blistex.

What if you’re dressing up?
I’ll add some eye shadow and/or lipstick if I’m dressing up.  I like Almay’s Intense I-Color Everyday Neutrals palette, because it makes a semi-smoky eye easy.  Right now, I’m loving Revlon’s Ultra HD Matte Lipcolor (in “Forever”).  I wish it stayed on a little better, like a stain, but I’m willing to let that go because I love the look.

Do you have any favorite tools?
My sister turned me on to the impact of brushing your eyebrows up and out a long time ago, way before all this eyebrow make-up was a thing.  I like to keep disposable mascara wands on hand for precise up-and-out brushing, without or without make-up.  (I also use a wand to soften up the color from brow crayon I mentioned above.)

Are there any foods or drinks that help you feel your best?
Obviously, water is the big one.  When I put in the effort to stay really hydrated, it shows in my skin.  And having my body all flushed out keeps me feeling lighter.

What do you do to care for your hair?
I don’t do much to my hair on a regular basis.  I switch around from product to product when I run out, pretty much basing my decision on which one smells best.  I wash my hair every time I shower and, once a week, I try to use a deep conditioner.  And, much to my sister’s dismay, I keep 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner on hand for those nights when I just cannot handle the two-part process — I’m the worst, I know.

And for styling?
I don’t use products when I style my hair because everything seems to make it look greasy right away!  I have a cheap straightener and a cheap curling iron, which I only use when I absolutely cannot get my hair to work with me.

Do you have any other non-beauty rituals that help you feel great?
I try to workout regularly so I feel good, but I also am convinced that when I sweat consistently, my skin looks better.  I’m also working on prioritizing sleep in a much bigger way; I swear, I might be one of those people who needs 9-10 hours a night to be my best.

Leave a Reply

