Currently – The July Edition

The other day I was labeling something with the date and wrote “July 2016”.  So I’m a year behind, but at least I’ve got the month right!

So far July has been a good month — mostly relaxing and routine, with a long weekend thrown in at the beginning.  But lots of fun things are coming up, so it looks like July will finish strong.  My sister’s birthday is next week and we’re going to see Barry Manilow that night!  And after that, I’m heading to Mexico.  I’ve never been, so I’m super-excited.

Lately I’m …

Eating:  Kind of Whole30 things, kind of not.  My Whole30 officially ended yesterday, but I did a terrible job following the rules this time.  I’ve got a post coming up soon that will detail the way I altered my Whole30 so I didn’t lose my mind.  But I did fall in love with this quick, Whole30-compliant, Skillet Chicken Piccata and everyone should make it.

Watching:  I just finished watching the second season of Master of None.  I wasn’t a huge fan of the first season, but I’ve got a soft spot for Aziz Ansari and I’d heard round two was an improvement.  And it was!  The writing was better this time around, and so were the performances overall.  There were a few episodes that felt out of place, but it was cool to see the show utilize different storytelling techniques (there’s part of an episode that follows a deaf woman, and it’s completely sound-less)!

Following:  Danika Brysha.  I discovered her when she took over Whole30Recipes and I developed an instant girl crush.

Reading:  It’s nice when bosses care about their employees as people.  Also, I mentioned that my sister, our friend Anna, and I have started a little book club — our first book is Sisters in Law: How Sandra Day O’Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg Went to the Supreme Court and Changed the World by Linda Hirshman, just in case you want to read it too!

What are you loving lately?

Leave a Reply

